3.18 Academic Degrees

Doctoral candidates receive a joint degree from their selected universities, where they have studied at least for two semesters. The PhD document includes the names and signatures of the persons specified by the local examination regulations of the degree-awarding universities as well as the seal of the degree-awarding universities. It includes the designation of the academic degree, or both national designations, in case these are different, and a remark to the effect that the European PhD Program in Computational Logic was conducted jointly by several universities. The national designations of the awarded joint degrees are:

  • FUB: Dottorato di Ricerca in Scienze e Tecnologie Informatiche (Ph.D. in Computer Science)
  • TUD: Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.) or Doktor rerum naturalium (Dr. rer. nat.) or Doktoringenieur (Dr.-Ing.)
  • TUW: Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) or Doktor/Doktorin der technischen Wissenschaften (Doctor Technicae) or Doktor rerum naturalium (Dr. rer. nat.)
  • UNL: Doutor em Informática (Ph.D. in Computer Science)